Logo INRS
Français
INRS
  • INRS
  • Eau Terre Environnement
  • Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications
  • INRS – Institut Armand-Frappier
  • Urbanisation Culture Société
Version imprimable

Mathieu Cellier

Molecular biology

Biochemistry; Cellular biology

Research Interests

Nramp membrane proteins and host-microbe interactions

Understanding the mechanisms of natural resistance to infection is essential to develop novel approaches that thwart infectious diseases.  Withdrawal of elements essential to the survival or growth of infectious agents can confer nutritional immunity to the host.  The research program of Pr Cellier centers on the study of an antimicrobial function that is specific to professional phagocytes and which restricts access to essential metal cations such as iron and manganese.

 

Nramp1 (Natural resistance-associated macrophage protein 1) is expressed in the membrane of lysosomal and phagosomal vesicles; it catalyzes transmembrane efflux of divalent metals towards the cytoplasm.  Nramp1 defines a family of membrane permeases (Solute carrier family 11, Slc11) that is evolutionary conserved from bacteria to man.  The three-dimensional structure of Slc11 proteins is common to other families of cation transporters that form the APC (amino acid-polyamine-organo-cation) super-family.

 

Slc11 permeases play important roles to maintain the homeostasis of Fe and Mn: in basal conditions, Nramp1 contributes to recycle iron from cells that are eliminated by phagocytosis; during infection, Nramp1 may deprive phagocytosed microbes from vital micronutrients.  The regulation of Nramp1/Slc11a1 activity thus appears crucial in diverse conditions which reflect the variety of functional phenotypes expressed by macrophages.

 

The research program is framed along two axes: i) characterizing the cis and trans determinants that control the expression of NRAMP1 during the development of human phagocytes (myelopiesis) and in response to environmental changes (immune stimuli, phagocytosis, intracellular infections); ii) identifying the functional sites which distinguish NRAMP1 protein from microbial homologs and may confer nutritional immunity to the host cell.

 

Tools that are used include human cell lines differentiated in vitro toward mature phagocytes, which may express reporter genes and/or overexpress NRAMP1 protein in native form or mutated at specific sites; infectious bacteria either wild-type or attenuated by inactivation of genes encoding metal transport genes.  Biochemical, molecular and cellular biology techniques are used to detail the functional organization of NRAMP1 locus and characterize gene expression (domain topology, proximal promoter, enhancer and silencer elements), to detect protein expression (immuno-detection) and activity (metal transport, control of bacterial infection); sequences analyses are implemented to establish phylogenetic relationships and pinpoint sites of functional divergence.    

 

Development of this program will foster understanding of the immune functions of Slc11 carriers and their contribution to host nutritional immunity.

 

Biography

Dr. Mathieu Cellier obtained his Ph.D. in Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology (1992) from the Université Montpellier II, France. Following postdoctoral studies at the Centre for the Study of Host Resistance at the Montreal General Hospital and the Department of Biochemistry, Faculty of Medicine of McGill University, he was named Assistant Professor at the Immunology Research Centre of the Institut Armand-Frappier in 1996. Since 1998, he is a member of INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier.

Logo INRS
English
INRS
  • INRS
  • Eau Terre Environnement
  • Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications
  • INRS – Institut Armand-Frappier
  • Urbanisation Culture Société
Version imprimable

Mathieu Cellier

Biologie moléculaire

Biochimie; Biologie cellulaire

Intérêts de recherche

Protéines membranaires de type Nramp et interactions hôte-microbes

La compréhension des mécanismes de résistance naturelle aux infections est essentielle au développement d’approches novatrices pour le contrôle des maladies infectieuses.  En privant les agents infectieux d'éléments nécessaires à leur survie ou leur croissance l'hôte peut acquérir une immunité nutritionnelle.  Le programme de recherche du Pr Cellier concerne l’étude d’une fonction antimicrobienne spécifique des phagocytes professionnels qui restreint l'accès à des cations métalliques essentielscomme le fer et le manganèse.

 

La protéine Nramp1 (Natural resistance-associated macrophage protein 1) est présente dans la membrane de vésicules lysosomales et phagosomales; elle catalysel'efflux transmembranairede métaux divalents vers le cytoplasme.  Nramp1 définit une famille de perméases (Solute carrier family 11, Slc11) conservée dans l'évolution de la bactérie à l'homme.  La structure 3D des protéines Slc11 est partagée par d'autres familles de transporteurs de cations regroupées dans la super-famille APC (amino acid-polyamine-organo-cation).

 

Les perméases Slc11 participent au maintien de l’homéostasie du Fe et du Mn: en conditions normales Nramp1 contribue au recyclage du fer des cellules éliminées par phagocytose; lors d’infections, Nramp1 peut priver les microbes phagocytés de micronutriments d'importance vitale.  La régulation de l'activité Nramp1/Slc11a1 apparait donc cruciale dans diverses conditions qui reflètent la variété des phénotypes fonctionnels exprimés par les macrophages.

 

Le programme de recherche suit deux axes principaux: i) la caractérisation des facteurs cis et trans qui contrôlent l'expression de NRAMP1 au cours du développement des phagocyte humains (myélopoièse) et en réponse à des changements environnementaux (stimuli immunitaires, phagocytose et infections intracellulaires); ii) l'identification des déterminants fonctionnels qui distinguent la protéine NRAMP1 d'homologues d'origine microbienne et peuvent conférer une immunité nutritionnelle à l'hôte.

 

Les outils utilisés incluent des lignées cellulaires humaines différenciées in vitro en phagocytes matures, pouvant exprimer des gènes rapporteurs et/ou surexprimer la protéine NRAMP1 native ou mutée ponctuellement; des bactéries de types sauvage ou atténué par inactivation de gènes de transporteurs de métaux.  Les études menées s'appuient sur des techniques de biochimie, biologie moléculaire et cellulaire visant à détailler l'organisation fonctionnelle du locus NRAMP1 et l'expression du gène (topologie,promoteur proximal, éléments enhancer et/ou silencer), l'expression de la protéine (immuno-détection) et de son activité (transport de métaux, contrôle d'infections bactériennes); des analyses de séquences permettent d’établir les relations phylogénétiques et d’identifier des sites potentiels de divergence fonctionnelle.

 

Le développement de ce programme améliorera notre compréhension des fonctions immunitaires des transporteurs Slc11 et de leur contribution à l'immunité nutritionnelle de l'hôte.