Please consult the documents below issued by INRS to prevent and combat harassment and sexual violence and published by the Quebec government on rights, dignity and respect for people in study environments and the workplace. 

About INRS Policy

About the INRS Harassment, Discrimination, and Incivility Policy

The INRS Harassment, Discrimination, and Incivility Policy was adopted on April 19, 2016, and amended on April 18, 2018, because it covered sexual harassment (link), which now falls under the INRS Sexual Violence Policy. The objectives of the Harassment, Discrimination, and Incivility Policy are to:

  • Promote and maintain a safe work and study environment based on mutual respect and free of any form of harassment, discrimination or incivility;
  • Raise awareness about the INRS community’s responsibility to respect individual dignity in their behaviour, attitudes and speech;
  • Inform the INRS community of the mechanisms available for reporting and, if necessary, stopping all forms of harassment, discrimination and incivility.

About the INRS Policy against Sexual Violence

The INRS Sexual Violence Policy was adopted on December 4, 2018, by the INRS Board of Directors. It covers sexual harassment and all aspects of sexual violence. The objectives of the INRS Sexual Violence Policy are to:  

  • Reinforce action to prevent and combat sexual violence; 
  • Help foster and maintain a safe and healthy work and study environment for the university community; 
  • Implement means of prevention, awareness, accountability, support and assistance for the university community; 
  • Inform the university community about the mechanisms available to report and, if necessary, stop all sexual violence. 

On December 8, 2017, the government of Quebec passed the Act to prevent and fight sexual violence in higher education institutions.

The act stipulates that every higher education institution must adopt a separate sexual violence policy before January 1, 2019, and implement it by September 1, 2019, at the latest, to provide healthy, safe and respectful study and work environments.

About the Sexual Violence Committee

The Permanent Committee responsible for drawing up, revising and monitoring the Policy. The members appointed on Septembre 10, 2020, are:

  • Laureline Berthot, student
  • Marlène Blais, director of the Human Resources Department
  • Jean-Daniel Bourgault, expert in teaching methods and techniques
  • Marie-Ève Boutin, academic affairs advisor
  • Lise Couillard, legal advisor for the General Secretariat
  • Michel Fortin, General Secretary
  • Hélène Linteau, human resources advisor
  • Joanie Lavoie, research officer at the Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies Department
  • Cathy Vaillancourt, professor

The Institutional Committee, which is made up of representatives of the university community in each centre. It is responsible for implementing prevention measures that will ensure a healthy work and study environment free of sexual violence. The members appointed on December 4, 2018, are:

Centre Eau Terre Environnement :

  • Valérie Langlois, professor
  • Josianne Trottier, human resources technician

Centre Urbanisation Culture Société :

  • Wassila Foul, administrative officer
  • Lyne Nantel, student

Centre Armand-Frappier Santé Biotechnologie :

  • Melany Juarez, student
  • Martin Pellerin, support worker

Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications :

  • Andreas Ruediger, professor 
  • Hela Kammoun, student