Back to top

Professor Rosei rewarded for his involvement in developing countries

October 24, 2018 | Stéphanie Thibault

Update : November 4, 2020

Federico Rosei receives the 2019 John Wheatley Award for his commitment and the impact of his work in developing countries.

Federico Rosei

Capitalizing on his vision of societal development based on sharing scientific knowledge, Professor Federico Rosei of INRS has devoted much of his career to providing ongoing support to scientists from developing countries. The American Physical Society (APS) has recognized his exemplary commitment by presenting him with the 2019 John Wheatley Award for his efforts and achievements in education and research in developing countries.

A prolific scholar, Professor Rosei strongly believes in the importance and urgency of bridging the science and education gap between developed and developing nations. To address this challenge, he has organized over twenty conferences in more than a dozen developing countries to foster scientific dialogue and international networking.

Since 2014, Federico Rosei has held the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion, Saving and Storage. The program he has built around this Chair reflects his vision of international collaboration: he supervises doctoral students from developing countries and has also initiated joint projects and exchanges involving thirty organizations based in fifteen countries in the global south. He also mentors numerous young researchers who have seen their careers take off in their home countries thanks to his support.

Federico Rosei’s global impact, both in terms of research and physics education, is an inspiration to the scientific community. His selection for the John Wheatley Award is a testament to the esteem in which he is held by his peers.

About Professor Federico Rosei

Professor Federico Rosei obtained a PhD in physics from the University of Rome La Sapienza in 2001. He began his career at INRS in 2002. Since 2011, he has been director of the INRS Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications and, since 2016, he has held the Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Materials. His research program focuses on studying structure/property relationships in nanoscale materials, on which he has published over 285 scientific papers. The quality and importance of his research, which has been cited more than 10,700 times in the scientific literature, has been repeatedly acknowledged by numerous prominent organizations. He is a member/fellow of 18 national and international societies and academies, including the Royal Society of Canada, the European Academy of Sciences, the Academia Europaea, the World Academy of Art and Science, the African Academy of Sciences, the Mexican Academy of Engineering, the Canadian Academy of Engineering, American Physical Society, Optical Society of America, and American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has also received more than twenty awards and honours in Canada and around the world, including the Herzberg Medal (Canadian Association of Physicists), the Rutherford Memorial Medal (Royal Society of Canada), the E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship (NSERC), the John C. Polanyi Award (Canadian Society for Chemistry), and the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education (World Cultural Council).