Back to top

Students awarded for their contributions in advancing technological innovation

October 7, 2022 | Julie Robert

Update : October 7, 2022

Riza Fazili and Moein Noferesti receive George Armitage Outstanding Student Branch Award from IEEE Canada. 

Two students from the INRS Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications (EMT) Research Centre have received the George Armitage Outstanding Student Branch Award in recognition of their extraordinary achievements from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Canada. 

Riza Fazili received the award on behalf of the team at the 2022 Canada Annual Student Congress that took place in Toronto from September 23 to 25.

“I was honoured to receive this award on behalf of our branch. This award further encourages me and shows that our actions have been noticed and appreciated. This would not have been possible without the efforts of Moein Noferesti, a doctoral student at INRS, and the support of Professor Roberto Morandotti, Counselor of the IEEE student branch at INRS-EMT.”

Riza Fazili, doctoral student and president of the INRS-EMT Student Branch.
From L to R: Dr Maaroufi (IEEE Canada Student Activities Chair),
Riza Fazili (INRS-EMT Student Branch) and Dr. Murad (IEEE Canada President-Elect).

Rewarding excellence

This award was granted to the INRS-EMT IEEE Student Branch for their exceptional achievements in organizing international conferences with leading experts in the field, and effective collaborations with the local and regional IEEE sections to promote technological innovation and its benefits for society. The students were tied with the University of Manitoba student branch among the fifty IEEE student branches in Canada.

This award is named in memory of George Armitage, a founding member of the IEEE Canadian Foundation. It is awarded to an IEEE student branch that has excelled in activities that support IEEE’s goals. These activities include involvement in the community to promote education and raise awareness of engineering, while collaborating effectively with the local and regional IEEE sections. 

In 2021 and 2020, the IEEE branch of INRS-EMT won the award for the best student branch of the IEEE Montreal section ahead of the other branches, which are Concordia, ÉTS, McGill and Polytechnique.

Riza Fazili is part of Professor Roberto Morandotti’s laboratory that specializes in nonlinear optics and in the micro and nanofabrication of structures for photonics.

Moein Noferesti is part of Professor Tarek Djerafi’s laboratory that specializes in the area of radio frequencies and millimeter-wave engineering.

Congratulations to the team!