Back to top

Two INRS professors recognized for their contribution to telecommunications

February 22, 2019

Update : October 13, 2020

As 2019 gets underway, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is honoring INRS professors Sonia Aïssa and Tayeb A. Denidni by naming each of them a Fellow, one of the organization’s highest distinctions. This title recognizes the important contribution the professors have made to the advancement or application of engineering, science, and technology.

Sonia Aïssa, a professor at INRS since 2000, specializes in wireless communications. The quality and impact of her research earned her  the title of IEEE fellow for her contributions “to design and performance analysis of cognitive radio and cooperative communication systems.”


Professor Tayeb Denidni is internationally known for his work and his ongoing innovations in the fields of radiofrequency systems and antennas for wireless communication systems. IEEE made him a fellow for his “contributions to frequency selective surfaces and their application to reconfigurable antennas.”

IEEE is the largest international, technical, and professional organization dedicated to the advancement of technology. It has more than 400,000 members and works to promote innovation, education, and development in the electrical and electronics industries.

Congratulations to professors Aïssa and Denidni for this distinguished honor!