Back to top

Joint Research Units

Joint research units (UMRs) create and consolidate interuniversity research and innovation clusters across Québec (particularly outside urban areas) through joint projects by Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) and five partner universities from the Université du Québec (UQ) network.

These interuniversity research groups study strategic themes of priority interest to Québec, such energy transition materials and technologies, cybersecurity, digital transformation in support of regional development, sustainable health, and Indigenous studies. Partner universities are Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (UQAC), Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR), Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT), Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO), and Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR).

The purpose of UMRs is to build national and international leadership in strategic sectors for Québec and accelerate the development of research capacity at regional academic institutions.

What is a joint research unit?

A joint research unit (UMR) is an interuniversity research group, recognized by INRS and the host university where the research is conducted, that is dedicated to fostering private and public partnerships and contributing fully to the economic, social, and cultural development of the host region.

Each joint research unit between INRS and a partner university conducts high-level research and trains highly qualified personnel in scientific fields that address pressing societal needs in Québec and around the world. Many students receive training through the research projects and programs offered at each UMR. Every UMR generates considerable spinoffs for their region.

These research units are considered “joint” because they involve professors from both INRS and the host university. INRS and the host university work together to form a joint implementation committee for the UMR’s designated research sector.

Joint research unit funding

Joint research units receive initial funding of $15 million from the Québec government (in French). This allows for the creation of 15 additional faculty positions at INRS (i.e., 3 per UMR). These new faculty members are located at each partner university in the UQ network.

Have questions? Contact the INRS research centres.