Professor Federico Rosei of INRS wins the John C. Polanyi Award

December 7, 2015 | Gisèle Bolduc

Mise à jour : November 26, 2020

Professor Federico Rosei of the INRS Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications Research Centre has received the 2016 John C. Polanyi Award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry. This award is presented for excellence by a scientist carrying out research in physical, theoretical, or computational chemistry or chemical physics in Canada. This is the first time that an INRS professor has received this honour.

Professor Rosei holds the UNESCO Chair in Materials and Technology for Energy Conversion, Saving, and Storage (MATECSS) and is known for the quality of his research on the properties of nanostructured materials. His extensive expertise in the fabrication, processing and characterization of inorganic, organic, and biocompatible nanomaterials has earned him many distinctions and national and international awards. This is the second time that Professor Rosei has been honoured by the Canadian Society for Chemistry, which gave him the Award for Excellence in Materials Chemistry in 2014.

The John C. Polanyi Award will be conferred to Dr.Rosei on June 8, 2016, at the 99th Canadian Chemistry Conference and Exhibition, to be held in Halifax June 5 to 9, 2016. Prof. Rosei is invited to give an award lecture at this annual conference on the theme “Chemistry: The New Wave.”

About the Canadian Society for Chemistry

The Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC) is a national, not-for-profit, professional association that unites chemistry students and professionals who work in industry, academia, and government. The CSC is recognized by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) and is one of the three constituent societies of the Chemical Institute of Canada. The John C. Polanyi Award is named for one of the three winners of the 1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.The Canadian Society for Chemistry first conferred the award in 1992 on this chemist who is now a professor at the University of Toronto.