Back to top

INRS Professor François Légaré wins the 2015 Herzberg Medal

March 13, 2015 | Gisèle Bolduc

Update : November 26, 2020

Professor François Légaré of the INRS Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications Research Centre has been awarded the 2015 Herzberg Medal by the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) in recognition of his outstanding contributions in ultrafast molecular imaging and the development of high peak power infrared lasers for high harmonic generation and tissue imaging using optical nonlinear microscopy.

Research conducted by Professor Légaré and his team has led to new optical approaches for dynamic imaging. The team notably captured images of a molecular reaction at never-before-seen resolution. Another important development, frequency domain optical parametric amplification (FOPA), which offers simpler laser design and control over new parameters, is so promising that a new spinoff company, few-cycle Inc., has been created.

Professor Légaré also directs the Advanced Laser Light Source Laboratory (ALLS), the only research facility of its kind in Canada. His accomplishments in the ultrafast laser science earned him a spot in the renowned Global Young Academy (2014).

Professor Légaré is the second INRS researcher to receive the Herzberg Medal, after Professor Federico Rosei won the prestigious award in 2013. “This great news speaks volumes about the Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications Research Centre. Every one of us can be proud that we have an environment conducive to scientific excellence,” said Professor Légaré, who noted that it is an honour and a privilege to be recognized by his peers.

CAP will officially present the 2015 Herzberg Medal to Professor Légaré at its Annual Congressin Edmonton, June 15–19, 2015.

Congratulations to Professor Légaré, winner of the 2015 Herzberg Medal!