Back to top

Professor Patrizio Antici elected Fellow of the European Physical Society

June 17, 2015 | Gisèle Bolduc

Update : December 7, 2020

Professor Patrizio Antici of the Energy Materials Telecommunications Research Centre has been elected Fellow of the European Physical Society for his outstanding contribution to physics. This is the first time an INRS researcher has received this prestigious distinction, giving him the opportunity to rub shoulders with distinguished scientists such as Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, winner of the Nobel Prize in physics in 1997, and Thomas Kibble, co-discoverer of the Higgs–Kibble mechanism and the Higgs boson.

Patrizio Antici

“It’s a great honour to be part of such an elite scientific group, and I am very touched by this recognition,” said Professor Antici. “It crowns years of work within the research community, work that has produced such impressive results as the Extreme Light Infrastructure.” Professor Antici is one of seven new fellows elected in 2015 and one of the youngest scientists to receive this distinction.

The European Physical Society has welcomed him as a fellow in recognition of his significant contribution to the creation of major laser and acceleration infrastructure and networks as well as his important work on the development of laser-generated particle sources.

Professor Antici is currently working on developing new types of particle accelerators using intense lasers. These cutting-edge accelerators have potential applications in the life sciences, medicine, basic physics, astrophysics, material sciences, and inertial confinement fusion. Professor Antici recently received major funding from the Canada Foundation for Innovation and the Quebec government to set up an experimental station that will be the only one of its kind in Canada.

Congratulations to this outstanding physicist for his contribution to INRS’s international reputation! 

About the European Physical Society

Founded in 1968, the European Physical Society promotes physics research and its contribution to economic, technological, social, and cultural advancement in Europe. It supports the role of physicists in the design and implementation of European science policies while encouraging international cooperation among physicists around the world. It currently has over 100,000 members from 40 national physics societies and 78 elected fellows.