Back to top

Over $5.9 million from the NSERC

June 19, 2020 | Audrey-Maude Vézina

Update : October 11, 2020

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) awards more than $5.9 million to INRS professors for the advancement of their research.

The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, announced the recipients of the Discovery Grants Program on June 17, 2020.


NSERC funded the projects of the following professors:

  • Karem Chokmani : Télédétection par drone au service de l’agriculture de précision
  • Jérôme Comte : Ecology of microbial communities in lake ecosystems in transition
  • Valérie Langlois : Genomic and Physiological Mechanisms of Androgen Signaling: Steroid 5-Reductase Knockout Investigation in Frogs
  • Isabelle Laurion : Les limnopaysages affectés par le dégel du pergélisol: cycles biogéochimiques et potentiel de rétroaction climatique
  • Louis-César Pasquier : Gaz industriels, CO2 et carbonates, construisons le monde de demain.
  • Pierre-Simon Ross : Assessing magma fragmentation processes from the characteristics of volcanic ash
  • Renaud Soucy La Roche : Early evolution of the middle crust in continental collisions
  • Jacob Stolle : Nature-Inspired Design – Improving Coastal Resilience through Biomimicry
  • Rajeshwar Tyagi : Utilization of wastewater and wastewater sludge for production of value added products
  • Sofiène Affes : Paradigm-Shifting Radio Access Technologies for 6G-and-Beyond Wireless Networks and the Internet of Everything Applications
  • José Azaña : Photonic-Enabled Intelligent Ultrahigh-Bandwidth Time-Frequency Waveform Processing
  • Kulbir Ghuman : Enhancing material efficiencies for catalysis and fuel cell applications via disorder engineering
  • Dongling Ma : Advanced functional nanomaterials for photocatalysis
  • Sergei Manzhos : Momputational modeling and design of materials for energy conversion and storage & next generation methods
  • Roberto Morandotti : Scalable and accessible photonics for next-generation quantum networks
  • Ana Tavares : 1D and hybrid catalysts: from few particles to gas diffusion electrodes
  • Éric Déziel : The importance of surface-active metabolites (biosurfactants) in cooperative bacterial social behaviours
  • Stephane Lefrancois : Using unbiased and biophysical approaches to study clathrin coated vesicle formation
  • Isabelle Plante : Cellular Interactions in Mammary Gland Development
  • Simona Stäger : Microbial sensing and innate immune activation in B cells
  • Étienne Yergeau : Plant microbiome manipulation: nitrogen as the key currency

The following professors are also supported through the Research Tools and Instruments Grants Program :

  • Shuhui Sun : Advanced surface characterization equipment for porous materials : an immediate need
  • Tayeb Denidni : Antenna scanner upgrade to enable measurements in millimeter frequency bands for upcoming wireless communication systems
  • Luca Razzari : Development of a novel charge accumulation THz spectroscopy system operating in an art inert atmosphere
  • Emanuele Orgiu : Cryogenic probe station with optical apertures to investigate light interactions with charged matter
  • Pierre Francus : Mise à jour du laboratoire multidisciplinaire de microscopie électronique de l’INRS
  • Frédéric Veyrier : Imaging host-pathogen interplay at the cellular level
  • Tsuneyuki Ozaki : Cutting-edge elliptically and circularly polarized terahertz technology
  • Roberto Morandotti : Supercontinuum-based photonic neural network for all-optical data classification
  • Federico Rosei : Fast, atomic-scale investigation of assembly and reaction at surfaces